To the Parliament of Aotearoa New Zealand,

Three years ago, a group of young New Zealanders began to call for a new climate law - the Zero Carbon Bill - to put climate action beyond politics. Now, you are on the verge of voting to pass it into law.

A lot has changed in the last three years.

  • The IPCC has shown the critical importance of keeping global warming below 1.5C;
  • Over 120 New Zealand businesses have joined the Climate Leaders Coalition;
  • Thousands of young students and adults (3.5% of NZ’s population) of all political stripes took to the streets, demanding action on climate change; and
  • Tens of thousands of New Zealanders signed a petition backing the Zero Carbon Bill. 

New Zealanders know climate change threatens our common values. We must all do our bit.

We are rising to the challenge of getting to net zero carbon emissions now, but we need Parliament to provide certainty by uniting behind the Zero Carbon Bill.

As businesses, community groups and people from all over Aotearoa New Zealand we implore you to vote in favour of this new law - and not to weaken it with last minute amendments.

The climate crisis is too important to be a political football.

We have seen the impact of other parliaments around the world passing climate legislation with cross-party support, and we urge our Parliament to do the same. Please take this chance - for a sustainable economy and a safe climate future.

We urge you to create a just climate legacy for all New Zealanders.

He waka eke noa,

Over 220 businesses, community groups and prominent New Zealanders

Delivering the letter

Delivering the letterq

The open letter


3R Group Ltd • 4Sight Consulting Limited • About Giving • Activate.Film • Ahika Consulting • Antipodes • Barbarian Productions • Bicycle Junction • Big Street BIkers • Blueskin Energy Limited • C H Faul and Company • CaliWoods • Capital Cycles • CarbonClick • Cawthron Institute • Chia Sisters • Christchurch Airport • Clever Green Limited • CoGo • Collaborate • Commonsense Organics • Compass Climate • Cordis Auckland • Countdown Supermarkets • Creative & Green • Curative • Dancefit Studios • DB Breweries • DB Export • Deloitte New Zealand • DETA Consulting • Dinosaur Polo Club • Downer • EarthSavvy • Eastland Group • EcoGeekCo • Ecostore • Ecotricity • EightyOne • EKOS • Elevate • Energy Solution Providers • Energy TS • Fairground accounting • Fix & Fogg • Floorspace • Flying Flowers • Foodstuffs South Islands Ltd • Fuji Xerox • G&A The Giveback Agency • Georgia Duder-Wood Resonant Company • GoodSense Ltd • Great South • Green Business HQ • Green Cabs • Honeybees Preschool • Honeywrap • IAG New Zealand • Impact Ventures • Jacobsen Creative Surfaces • Jacobsen Holdings • Katy Glennie Consulting • Kokako • KPMG • Lab3 • Les Mills International • Limber • Lion NZ • Living Simply Auckland • Meridian Energy • Mission Estate Winery • New Zealand Wedding Films • NoCar Cargo • Not Another • NSPR Limited • Ocean Design • Oceanmax International • Offcut • Ora Ora Eco Wellness Retreat • Orion NZ Ltd • Pakaraka Permaculture • Parsonson Architects Ltd • popular • Ports of Auckland • Proxima Consulting Ltd • PWC • Raglan Coconut Yoghurt • Redvespa Consultants Ltd • Revology • Rippon • Rise Financial • Rua Bioscience • Rush Digital • Sanford • Seed the Change • SkyCity • Sol Cups NZ • Spark • StrataMap • Sustainable Business Network • Synapsys NZ Ltd • Synlait • Te Arawa Fisheries Group • TetraMap International • ThankYou Payroll • The Greenfield Limited • The Lever Room • The Rubbish Whisperer • The Warehouse Group • Thinkstep ANZ • Thundergrid • Thunderpants • Toyota New Zealand • Trade Aid • Tredsafe • Trees Please • V1 Vegan Store • Waimarie • Watercare Services • Westpac • Wollemi Consulting • Woody's Farm • Wright Communications • WSP • Z Energy


350 Aotearoa • A Rocha • ActionStation • Ākina Foundation • Amnesty International • Aotearoa Youth Leadership Institute • Belong Aotearoa (formerly ARMS) • Bioenergy Association • BLAKE • Blueskin Resilient Communities Trust • Carbon and Energy Professionals New Zealand • Carbon Neutral NZ Trust • Caritas • Citizens Climate Lobby • Climate Reality Australia New Zealand • Coal Action Network Aotearoa • College of Nurses Aotearoa • Cycling Action Network • ECO • EDS • Far North Organic Growers • For the Love of Bees • Forest & Bird • Forest & Bird Youth • FossilFree UoA • Greenpeace New Zealand • Habitat te Henga • Human Rights Foundation Aotearoa New Zealand • Jane Goodall Institute NZ • Kaipatiki Project • Lawyers for Climate Action • Mindful Money • New Zealand College of Public Health Medicine • New Zealand Green Building Council • New Zealand Nurses Organisation • Ngunguru School • Oil Free Otago • One NZ • Ora Taiao: The New Zealand Climate and Health Council • Our Seas Our Future • Oxfam New Zealand • Public Health Association • Pure Advantage • Response Trust • Save the Children NZ • School Strike 4 Climate NZ • Students For Environmental Action Otago • Sustainability Trust • Sustainable Ōtautahi Christchurch • SustainedAbility • Tauranga Carbon Reduction Group • Te Ara Whatu • Te Rūnanga o Aotearoa • The Tindall Foundation • The Weaving House • Trump Forest • UNA NZ • Victoria University • Vision Kerikeri • Wellington City Youth Council • Wellington Zoo • Whaingaroa Environment Centre • Wise Response • Women in Urbanism • World Vision • YWCA


Anake Goodall, Board of Meridian Energy, Chair of Hillary Institute of International Leadership  Dame Anne Salmond  Barry Coates, fromer MP  Chris Darby, Auckland Councilor, Chair of Planning Committee  Chris Karamea-Insley  David Lee, Councilor, Greater Wellington  Elizabeth McKenzie, Councilor, Environment Canterbury  Fleur Fitzsimons Councilor, Wellington City Council  Sir Geoffrey Palmer, former Prime Minister  Innes Asher ONZM, Paediatrician  Iona Pannett, Councilor, Wellington City Council  Professor James Renwick, Victoria University of Wellington  Professor Jim Salinger, Honorary Research Fellow, Department of Geography, University of Otago  Dr Jonathan Boston, School of Government, Victoria University of Wellington  Professor Klaus Bosselmann, University of Auckland  Lan Pham, Councillor, Environment Canterbury  Lani Kereopa, Te Arawa Climate Change Working Group  Lucy Lawless, actress and activist  Max Rashbrooke, writer  Dr Mike Joy, Victoria University of Wellington  Phil Goff, Mayor of Auckland  Prue Taylor, University of Auckland  Ralph Chapman, Director, Environmental Studies, Victoria University of Wellington  Professor Ralph Sims, Massey University and the Global Environment Facility  Sir Stephen Tindall  Dr Tim Naish, Director Antarctic Research Centre  Vicky Southworth, Councilor, ECAN